kanji

22 January, 2003
Snowblind

Here's a sure sign that you've turned the corner from the starry-eyed optimism of youth, into the spiny, dispeptic, disagreeable decline: awaking to a beautiful snowy morning... and greeting it with a hail of curses like a drunken sailor.

Well, it was a bit unexpected. At least, the local voodoo witchdoctors called "meteorologists" had it bite them on the ass.

Late last night, when I was giving the Hillbilly a ride to his place, the signs were there. Scrotum-shriveling cold (trust me... those rascals want no part of single digit temperatures--it'll turn your "outies" into "innies" right damned quick). Low, thick overcast, tinted in the vile orange/violet of mercury vapor lights. And the silence... like having your head burrowed in a thick quilt.

And there it is.

Truth told, it was pretty... after I'd had the chance to brew up some high-octane coffee and throw on about five layers, I watched the cascade from the balcony with the morning's first cigarette. Almost weightless flakes, some clumped together like fleecy chunks of asbestos (or that's how I recall the ceiling tiles in the campus center, many moons ago). Really, not amounting to much on the ground. Certainly, not worth the hail of damnation that I spewed as my first words of the day.

The payback for three-day work weeks... no allowances made for snow days. Just like the deal, last week, with the studio. The show must go on.

Meanwhile, I mutate into a turkey-necked, skinny-socks wearing, negatively-charged old bastard.

But, I am optimistic about Springtime.

Perhaps there's hope.

.


hit me with your rhythm stick




www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from puppet pauper pirate poet pawn & a king. Make your own badge here.