kanji

06 June, 2003
shrunken head

The Sun... blessed relief.

As dismal as the last few days have been, internally and externally, this day of cobalt blue skies and bare feet has been theraputic. I didn't begin the day thinking of how long I should wait to get high, which has been a departure from the past few weeks. Whatever came, I was going to face it straight. Actually laid hands on the camera, rustily, for the first time in a week while I baked the chill of the morning away in the yard.

I even went so far as to finish legalizing the Subie, with the safety inspection. Miss Jane had not touched her new ride all week long.

While I waited outside the garage, I watched this huge swirl of buzzards some distance away... like a feral whirlwind over some unseen potpourri of decay. A pot-bellied construction-type mentioned the sight, over my shoulder, and we wound up talking for about forty-five minutes about his electrician job for a local power company, and his former career at the mines in West Virginia. Oh so glad I am that I was not born there... having to survive by working twenty-miles deep in the earth,or in the chemical plants would have sent me to the exit, quickly.

An enlightening "conversation," mostly one-sided... it's always interesting to see how much people can talk about themselves. A good sort, though. He did let one piece of disturbing information slip... the fact that there exists in that state, a stockpile of the same substance that devastated Bhopal, India... though in greater quantity. Plus other, less tasteful chemicals the armed services play with.

If you point the finger, Mr Boosh, you have four others pointing at you.

When Miss Jane returned, late in the afternoon, she told me that she'd gotten an appointment with a counselor. Perhaps this will help her get to the bottom of this blackened state she's been spiralling into... as it was, she acted as if nothing had happened between us on Monday. Oh, the joys of selective memory.

It hasn't left me, though. If this doesn't slow the swing of her pendulum, somebody's got to take a walk in the sun. Or else I'll be wearing the straightjacket.

.


hit me with your rhythm stick




www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from puppet pauper pirate poet pawn & a king. Make your own badge here.