kanji

06 August, 2002
Secrets

Sometimes, it's not good to know more than you need to. For instance, a chum here in the desktop dept., dropped out of sight last week, uncharacteristically. Any wrinkle in the normal flow of things sparks the imagination of a few... such are the charms of the workplace. And there are those whose imaginations stray no further than the lives of co-workers. This was no exception... and more reason not to stoke the fires of speculation. Besides, I had a hunch.

I've lived around alcoholics, and abusers... so I know the signs. Nosedive in attitude. Bitterness. Overcompensating. And my concerns were correct, verified by a call, this afternoon, from another friend who had to have him committed to rehab over the weekend.. Which I had to do to one of my own best friends, not so many years ago.

Well, a good secret-keeper, I am. Though the subject involved doesn't know that I know.

Quelle charade!

Late last evening, while I was in the quagmire of a huge radiology text, Elly called from New Mexico. Coyotes barking in the distance, on the cell phone. Now THAT was a different vicarious experience. In the course of the conversation, she remarked that I should get a ticket and come out and see for myself.

Which makes for an interesting dream.

Though I'd thought Miss Jane and I had decided up on a spot to get away, previously... she's had second thoughts. But forgot to tell me, or assumed that I'd pick up on it, telepathically. Since I need a little time to front the cash, and make arrangements at work, she may be going with her daughter and family, without me. Though this doesn't mean I'm packing up for the southwest... it does cut me adrift.

Sometimes, it's better to have more information than you get.

.


hit me with your rhythm stick




www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from puppet pauper pirate poet pawn & a king. Make your own badge here.