kanji

09 August, 2002
You Never Miss Your Water 'Til...

Back home, where the buffalo roam... well, they actually roam about twenty miles from here, on a farm in Madison. Familiar territory, in other words. Though it feels like somewhere else. Like the Mojave... or somewhere southwestern. Crunchy grass. Plumes of dust rising with the slowest pace on gravel drives. Wells drying up, everywhere... including the homeplace. Again.

Immediately facing me, as I came to consciousness with the morning coffee and cigarette, was a trip to the dentist's office. Oh, Happy Day. Since I've been prodding Miss Jane to get her teeth taken care of, and have consequently assisted the dentist in rebuilding his boat, I've backed off my own. Not good, if you're blessed with English choppers... though I'd probably blend in well at a London football match. I'm not talking Shane McGowan or Mick Jones rotted stumps, but I heard the words "fillings" and "crowns" again. Fudge... as in the fake cuss word. That'll learn ya, durn ya. More gold molars.

My mother had a message on the answering machine waiting for me when I got back home... begging for water. Sounds pathetic, doesn't it? For the fifth time in six months, her well had gone dry. Loaded up some of my old five gallon beermaking bottles and some smaller ones to make the donation. As it is, they're going to have to bore a hole to the Great Lakes to get water back in that house. I still think we need an exorcist... though I'm not sure how effective that'd be, since they busted two more priests in the area for doing what comes unnaturally.

Gawd, he's being negative, again.

On the plus side, the woods aren't as impregnable as I thought they'd be. Slick Willie has been hacking at the undergrowth on his prospective pruchase, so the land sale will be done before long. Then, it'll be new well for moms, and maybe cheaper road building and land clearing, if we're both doing this at the same time. I don't plan on wasting the cold months on my backside, so by this time next year, it might be possible to see how the lay of the land appears. Small steps. But steps.

An interesting turn of events: Miss Jane has decided to go with her daughter and family to Myrtle Beach. Since the contractors will probably be gutting the bathroom that week, it'll be without me. Gotta have a babysitter for the family jewels. What's the old Chinese proverb... "be careful what you wish?" Seems like I was trying to get a little break not so long ago... now the worm has turned. I don't know if I can stand not seeing the ocean this year, but if I have to finance her trip... it'll be interesting.

Maybe I'll pull the cylinder head on the Trooper that week (and sell to save for a truck), and find some music in the course of the week. May have to tie on a good one, just for grins. Or just find some place to chill, off the beaten path.

A wealth of possibilities. As long as it doesn't turn out to be one of week-old stubble, sinkful of dirty dishes, and the hangover kind. No Detox, thanks.

It's dry enough, already.

.


hit me with your rhythm stick




www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from puppet pauper pirate poet pawn & a king. Make your own badge here.