kanji

06 July, 2003
Ghost Town

It's ordained that the Fourth has got to be the most heinously hot day of the year. Only, it got pushed one day back, this go 'round.

Sure, it was sizzling yesterday. The top-down trip to the studio quick-frying the brain to a crackly crunch... a trend that I was happy to oblige for the remainder of the day.

The soundtrack should have been the Specials' "Ghost Town." A not-quite-Friday, not-quite-Sunday feeling... and the normally constricted streets were unfamiliarly passable. So much so, I actually drove through places that were normally gridlocked, like in front of the University. Quelle difference.

The same atmosphere surrounded the studio. No office staff, no students... the AstroGrrrl closed in the Air studio with an old friend, who now writes for R0lling St0ne. Strangely, she hung around after I went on... to tell me that she'd be leaving in three weeks. With the smokiest of eye contact.

What's this about, says I.

Only two calls during the show... one from a record company, another from the husky English accent of my once-a-year well-wisher (who sounds so much like Sarah Mi1es that it's uncanny). No takers on free tickets. So, one person listening.

A brief drive to the mountains afterwards, returning a borrowed CD to Biggles, dinner with a fellow DJ, the first of many beers and taking in the fireworks from the side of the road, on the hill overlooking the town. A low grumble of MG cruised slowly past, the obscured driver growling, "you scurvy dog!" Slick Willie and the missus... thirty miles from home, in the dark. It must be radar.

Up 'til five with my bestest IM bud... setting the stage for:

Monster brain-lag. Carpentry in just-below-one hundred degrees. Major dehydration.

Damn, but my days are mixed up. Weekends mean playtime for anyone else.

The real paint should go on tomorrow, after days of major restoration and rehanging trim... on someone else's house. Sweating so heavily in the labours, I felt like a waxed cucumber at the grocery store... except not nearly as cool.

Later, looking for and finding the cat snoozing under the bed, I did the same... right there on the floor. And I was on my way to the shower.

Heinous.

.


hit me with your rhythm stick




www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from puppet pauper pirate poet pawn & a king. Make your own badge here.