kanji

01 June, 2003
exquisite ordinary

Huge blocks of these past twenty-four hours have been so different in atmosphere, it seems more like several days have passed, instead.

Sleep would not come last night... when I finally crept between the sheets around four, the skipping drumbeat in my chest reverberated in my ears. From the other side, incessant staccato snores jolted little pulses of malevolent adrenaline, making the room seem smaller and sinsiter.

It wasn't until after what seemed like hours, when I dove my head under the pillows (and the rains came) that i was released.

Awaking to brilliant temporary sunshine. I'd arranged to check out a car from the classifieds for Miss Jane, and was digging through the car sites for info in my underwear when the neighbor lady knocked on the door for a jumpstart. Surprise! I guess that was payback for all of the cursing she had to endure when I was damning the SAAB, last night.

Then, the drive for the inspection.

The best thing that Miss Jane could do, right now, is look after getting her own transportation... and she was finally willing to do something about it. Seventeen-year-old cars do not bear their years well, Swedish or not. I'd bought her last two rides, and signed on as broker and mechanic, not restorationist.

There was a wait... during which, another couple with the same idea drove up. Imperious and smartass... and jumped the seller when she arrived, taking the test run first. Good, be an asshole... and untuck your polo shirt from out of your underpants, dude.

It was a good opportunity to talk to her, as it turned out... a frosted-blonde gym-club banker type, not entirely irritating. The car returned, and fatboy told her he'd take the car...after she'd gotten it inspected. "And, oh, this is wrong, and this needs fixing..."

They left, she said... "take it out, anyway."

Right-O.

After the run, I told her to give us a call if he tried to talk her down from the price (too low to be believed). She replied, "I'll sell it to you right now."

Done. Did you know that Subaru is the Japanese word for the Pleiades constellation... the little kite-shaped fleeing from Orion?

By the time we'd returned home, the skies had blackened. I could be conscious, no more.

I jolted awake to a phone in my face... moms having another computer panic attack.

So, I made dinner. Maki and reverse-Maki. Tuna ngiri. I think I need lessons with the bamboo mat... results are just too erratic. Tasty, though. Ir0n Chef Bumbo Clot.

Then, my nose in a book.

Quelle excitement!

Tomorrow, work... taming the lawn, planting the peppers. Day of rest, my ass.

.


hit me with your rhythm stick




www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from puppet pauper pirate poet pawn & a king. Make your own badge here.