kanji

06 September, 2002
Working On A Building

(Actually, Thursday's entry... ISP meltdown, yestiddy)

I've given nicknames to people, names to animals and a few of my cars... never, until today, have I considered christening a room. Especially the loo. Henceforth, it shall be known as... "Rome."

Why?

(Altogether now) "'Cause Rome Wasn't Built In A Day!"

It was supposed to be finished last Friday... after less than an hour of effort today (and only showing up at 11AM), the two-man "crew" beat a hasty retreat when bossman didn't have materials on hand.

It boggles the mind. Good thing we weren't building a nuclear breeder reactor. The fallout would last for centuries. It's only 8'x 6' fer chrissakes. Crazy bastards were going to reinstall all of the trimworm they broke. Proud t' be Ahmerkun.

So, I'll probably shower in my own home sometime before the sun goes into supernova. The good news... I'm writing down all of the materials they're using for future reference, and watching each step as it stumbles. It ain't that hard... and I will do this myself, when the time comes. Maybe I'll quit printing and sign up for a restoration crew. And start wearing baseball caps... and watch NASCAR... and listen to new "country." And light my own farts.

Perhaps not.

It's amazing this country ever geets anything done. I'd worked as a painter's helper for a couple of years, recently. Startup time... about 10AM. Difference being... busting ass to get the job done. It helped having a fanatic limey boss/friend, as well.

It's an education.

So, I've got goth fingernails. All black and nasty. Just two bolts to be removed, and less two tools I don't have, and the cylinder head will be free from the Trooper. Then to have it's malignant valves seen to, and it'll be frenzy in the woods. Plus, the art of shifting gears has gone by the way with the Volvo. I don't like being shiftless.

Focused physical activity has been good for the soul, today. Nice, to be freed from the confines of my own thoughts. The radio will be another respite, tomorrow.

You can run, but you can't hide.

Everytime the TV comes on, there's frothing at the mouth over the West Nile virus. Incessantly.

That's what bug spray is for, people! Keep 'em off you!

My idea for a way to cash in on the advertising? New product:

"De-Nile. It's not just a repellent in Egypt."

...voiced by Jared in a pharoah costume.

.


hit me with your rhythm stick




www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from puppet pauper pirate poet pawn & a king. Make your own badge here.