kanji

02 January, 2003
So It Begins

My way to celebrate the New Year?

Hibernating on the futon all day long with my eyes open. The TV on from the moment I sorely awoke, to the time I crawled away to snooze. Oy.

Sitting in one place for an entire day (outside of what I do at work), is something I never do. It became my penance for not throwing my shoes up, surviving the New Year's Alcohol Blitzkreig.

Nothing like a new start, embracing one of the Seven Deadly Sins. That's how religious I am about imposed "new starts."

However, I did manage to:

�Witness Arsenal's dodgy thumping of Chelsea.

�Thank my hosts for tolerating the previous night's delinquency.

�Calm the hyperactivity of the "Apartment Cat Syndrome" with liberal application of the laser pointer--frustration of not being able to grab-and-slash is a great means to subdue the whirlwind.

�Called a long-lost relative living outside of Hollywood, doing some major catching up... she gave me my first sportscar ride. Yes, I blame her.

�Watch Iron Chef Ultimate Upsets. If only opera was like this, I'd be "cultured."

�Began Season Three of the Sopranos. Good thing... network TV is abyssmal. Especially after seeing what Fox had to offer after the ball dropped yesterday. I swear, watching other people grinding gonads and swapping throat cultures makes me want to scrub with lysol. And check the TV for a quarter slot... I expected the monitor to shut off every ten minutes, until another coin went in (now THAT would be "Pay TV!)."

�And, speaking of filth, the day-long monsoon (2" worth) caused the basement to fill with water... and funk. The stank seeped up through the floor... enough to gag a maggot. Strapped on the knee-high boots, reset the sump, and poured a bucket of Citrus disinfectant liberally throughout. Like gilding a turd. My home design will include bilge pumps from a tugboat.

OK... that's over with. Time to get constructive, though it's still grey and uninviting outside.

I've got ants in my pants.

.


hit me with your rhythm stick




www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from puppet pauper pirate poet pawn & a king. Make your own badge here.