kanji

11 February, 2003
Tobacco Road

All of that effusing over the beauty of new-fallen snow, back on Friday... I take it back. Today, anyway.

The usual sensationalist forecast, last night, had me considering a Monday bailout. As much airtime as they used to cover their meterological asses, I figured that I'd have the Mother Of All Excuses to extend the weekend... which needed extending; Sunday just got way too strange.

Feck.

I came to consciousness with the anticipated silence that falling snow brings, Miss Jane tiptoeing in the house... a sure sign that schools were closed (since John Boy would be his mom's caretaker, if he'd been given the reprieve from teaching). I pulled the quilt over my head, and hit the mental snooze button...

...and mentally reran yesterday's events. Too many projects fell by the wayside in lieu of fixing the plumbing at my mother's house... (and I love plumbing work as much as I love working on exhaust systems: not in the slightest). Add to that, before I even turned the first wheel out of the driveway, down the slushy lane walked Attila the Neighbor's wife... in a minidress and fur coat, bawling her eyes out after yet another slap in the face. Some evening, she is finally going to reach that breaking point, when she decides that she's had enough of his disability check, new car buying (and destroying), inability to finish repairs to her mother's house, and constant barrage of curses. And I will not accuse. Hell, it was all I could do to not cold-cock him, myself when I'd reached my limit a few years ago.

That wasn't the best mindset to begin the day. Though a blizzard of flakes were dumping on the landscape, precious little was sticking to the lane--and the gravel always looks worse than the highway when it snows. Finally stirring, I couldn't boost myself out of slow-motion... hoping that if I took enough time, maybe there would be enough accumulation to justify some truancy.

Not in the cards. My argument slowly eroded from mental debate, so I called the boss and told him that I'd be late. In the background, during the conversation, it sounded like a comedy club... somehow, the atmosphere made me wish I'd stuck to Plan "A."

And, oh yes, it was a snowy ride... at times whiteout, though the asphalt never appeared to gloss over with ice.

Regrets? I hit the wall with the internet about seven hours ago... not long before the two-hour-long floating Baptist debate parked itself outside my cubie. Uninvited.

I'm thinking road trip.

Elsewhere, soon.

South.

Barefoot territory.

Or else, send flowers to the Laughing Academy.

.


hit me with your rhythm stick




www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from puppet pauper pirate poet pawn & a king. Make your own badge here.