kanji

27 April, 2003
Momentum

Maybe it was the right thing to do... wasting an entire evening. Losing just a half-step, so rhythm could be regained.

Waking every fifteen minutes or so (or so it seemed), asking the groggy question, "am I asleep yet?" The cat, stretched out alongside either one leg or the other, was my remora for the duration... I, the restless shark. But it was enough.

My wakeup call... the trick that the Speckled Beast has recently perfected. Sneaking up behind my head, over the pillows, she'd stretch out a paw and touch me on the tip of the nose. Better fuzz than claw, I suppose. Effective, certainly.

Looking through the living room window to the mountain, just before the involuntary reflex of making coffee, was like peering through a dirty fish bowl. Murky. Diffuse. Kinda like my turgid brain.

Well done, lad.

Somehow, I found my feet, and made them move. House tidied. The checkbook reconciled (Addition! Subtraction! Complex thought!). Plans organized.

As I made my way into town, I began to wonder if I'd transported into a world populated by irritable toad people. Sour faces. Shouts of "motherfucker" on Main Street. Lethal drivers, in a hurry to nowhere. I conceded them their turf.

I regrouped back at the house...determined to make good on the promos for the upcoming shows for the folk marathon. I took up the pen, made the words come, gathered the music, and took the chance that I'd be able to defeat the locked door to the production studio.

Not at first. I cursed my procrastination, but started digging through the library for candidates for the playlist. Magically, the Man With The Keys appeared. A human to talk to. A time to chill. Mission accomplished.

With the camera as my companion, I wandered through C-Ville afterward as the sun returned... and let hunger guide me to the deceptive simplicity of sushi (see fotolog).

Miss Jane never seemed comfortable with sitting at the bar. That seemed the place to be, today. It resulted in an unexpected homecoming.

The chef remembered the previous visit, and welcomed me by name. Presented me with artistry. Soon, his wife, then his young daughter sat with me, and pleasantly conversed about... everything. Later, with difficulty, I rose to leave... but first, had to meet all of the staff. Welcomed back, soon.

I slowly walked back to the car, rhythm restored.

Returning to an empty house, save for a hungry cat, I wonder how long the harmony will last.

.


hit me with your rhythm stick




www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from puppet pauper pirate poet pawn & a king. Make your own badge here.