kanji

29 January, 2003
Clowntime Is Over

It didn't occur to me until this afternoon that I'd missed a golden opportunity, last night, to do something besides sit on my ass and pretend to work... namely, standing up and being somebody outside of the Capitol Building while the Frat Boy hosted his kegger on national TV. I'm sure his usual smokescreen of flag-waving, enemy-baiting, and tycoon-supporting hid well the strings that make him jerk to the whims of his daddy and his cronies. Doubtless, the circus wowed the flock of sheep that refuse to think for themselves, crave the comforts that money can buy, and lust for vengeance... anyone's blood will do.

I dropped the ball on that one... just twenty miles down the road.

There was an excellent article in yesterday's Post about Janeane Gar0fal0's efforts to wake people up... which, with her place in the public eye, and in the present climate, will probably wreck her career. Makes it seem a lot less dangerous for someone as low in the pecking order a those like me. I understand, though, that DC's finest had an arsenal of cameras fixed on the crowd... to ferret out the terrorists. Yeah, Sure. Here comes that old familiar paranoia, again.

The little corner of the media that I inhabit is largely insignificant, so I don't mind pointing fingers at the corporate horde. Current events is so purposely bent to favor the sponsor that any message they want to present as truth will be so... particularly if they throw in a hip catchphrase, some Matr1x-style graphics, discount some fries, and flash a little T&A (Wooo Hooo!!!). Hook... Line... Sinker.

I wonder what the Bible would have turned out to be like if K1ng James' England had fast food joints, telemarketers. and E!?

Probably the same interpretations we're getting right now.

Until I do better, I'll descend the soapbox.

I sure hope someone's got some old videotapes of Dubyuh's Frat Parties. Dunno... might be kind of horrifying. He's got the red phones, now.

..............................................................................................

More trip memoirs, tomorrow... got myself too worked up to reminisce. Plus, there's a little matter of 85 miles, in just a few minutes.

.


hit me with your rhythm stick




www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from puppet pauper pirate poet pawn & a king. Make your own badge here.