kanji

23 September, 2002
Backfield In Motion

With the thickening of the cloud ceiling throughout the evening, gravity has settled irresistably into my ass. When the rains came, it settled into my eyelids, as well. And now, it's two AM.

Too much Saturday, I suppose.

Experiencing the UVa game, yesterday, started the downward trend. I probably should be ashamed, spending the past ten years as "staff" (if you call DJing a staff position) and having no interest in the fate of most of the school's sports (soccer being the opposite, to the point of semi-obession). Part of that is because of my allergy to frat fanaticism. Rich boy "crews." Affected Ivy League wannabes. The show, though, was worth it... for just the once.

Of course, it took a few beers on the ride up in preparation, joined by three other pairs of jaundiced eyes.

In short, here's the highlights:

Bizarre renditions of "Auld Lang Syne" by the marching band following scores... to the swaying crowd uniformed in khaki slacks and light blue buttonups (the required costuming for the law dept, I suppose).

Three (my jezuz) mascots...the horror. Foam cartoon Cavalier, a more shrunken one called "l'il Hoo" (think Baby Godzilla... I am not making this up), and a costumed musketeer on horseback. Hope the steed was wearing D*pends.

Requisite fighting music on the loudspeakers: Gary Glitt*r. Qu*en. H*artbreakers. Anything thumpy and at least thirty years old. Just a hair better than clanky marches.

Add to this: the mile forced walk... blistering sun... tequila in a cup of lemonade. Makes me the man I am today.

Another life experience for the books. Shoved into memory by the Arsenal match, on the come down.

I still refuse to wear orange and blue.

Gravity calls.

.


hit me with your rhythm stick




www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from puppet pauper pirate poet pawn & a king. Make your own badge here.