kanji

13 June, 2003
after the storm, there must be a calm

Since Wednesday evening,returning from the raw fish session up north, I have been "annointed" with raindrops three separate times. By "annointed," I mean soaked to the skin. Totally.

And, believe it or not, this is not a complaint.

In this about-face from last year, when hardly a drop fell from June through October, there's never been more than two days in a row without something falling from the sky. Consequently, the parts of Virginia through which I make my path closely resemble 'Nam.

Dense.

Thick.

Jungle.

Only black PJs would complete the scene.

So, I expect to get wet, often.

The mad dash&splash from the car to the building after dinner wasn't such a big deal... just a brief dappling with dime-sized pellets. Leaving to make the trip home was different. Loaded down with boombox-box of CDs-camera bag-some black plastic sheeting I'd rescued from recycling-coffee thermos-and backpack, I hit the front door to exit... into a wall of water. Naturally, the car was on the far end of the lot.

Enroute, I let fly with a barrage of cusswords that would have made Uncle Junior blush, and closed myself from the elements with waterfalls coursing down my head. Two miles down the road, it was dry.

Nature is having such good fun.

Bitch.

Yesterday promised much the same... the patented summer scenario: grey AM, scorching heat and sagging humidity in the afternoon, surrounding thunderclouds around quitting time. Since this place doesn't have AC, I had to round up all of the box fans for a cleaning and lubing...removing the grilles for a thorough de-funking. Y'know, old man shit.

It wasn't necessary to use the garden hose, after all. Out of nowhere, downpour... without the usual crescendo of thunder.

Annointment number three.

At least I hope it was a blessing.

Yesterday marked ten years of marriage. Though I asked Miss Jane if she'd like to have dinner out, she wanted to postpone 'til there was no work in the way. In the card I found for her, with a long personal note, there was this very cool butterfly-like thingy that I stuck in the envelope. Segmented in two pieces, bigger wings in/front smaller in back, joined by a metal armature and a rubber band... you wind it up, stick it in the card... it flutters out when it's opened. I thought it was cool, anyway... I had to ask her what she thought of it, later in the evening. After I'd opened her card... which I swear was a sympathy card that I'd never used and stuck in my file cabinet, the message covered with stationery and her handwritten message. Nice gesture/questionable one... these are the signals, constantly. No wonder I'm going crazy, here.

So now, I arrange dinner. This after reconciling my checkbook... which is looking mighty thin. Much like everybody elses'. Everyday expenses a monstrous drain, in what is supposed to be and easier time of year.

We need to be annointed with some cash.

.


hit me with your rhythm stick




www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from puppet pauper pirate poet pawn & a king. Make your own badge here.