kanji

18 October, 2002
Moonstomping

A "full" work week, after those extra few days off really have got me off song. Kinda comatose. Sore in the deltoids in my right arm... and I don't remember any injections, undue strains, or male-bonding pokes in the arm (fek off!). Must be my allergy to cooler weather.

In a tried-and-true old home remedy, I took to the woods with machete in hand to work the kinks out. Which was accomplished, after the deep bracken drew me in a lazy circle 180� from where I began... it's like a green, briary maze up there.

My biggest accomlishment of the day? Digging deeper into the rocksteady box sets, remembering why I still adore the Jamaican take on soul. That steady, optimistic chinka-chinka of the six-string, wobbled about by thundering bass notes... with a kickass soul harmonizing on top; the noise is joyful. Let someone else play the dancehall... Benz's and Bimmers and bling-bling are no match for skanking. Selah.

Joe Gibbs Record Globe... never mind the produce, soul music was made here.

"Utmost adoration." Two words that popped into my head on the way back,last night. I'd love to use those on somebody, and mean it.

.


hit me with your rhythm stick




www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from puppet pauper pirate poet pawn & a king. Make your own badge here.