kanji

20 April, 2003
Bela Lugosi's Dead

Damn.

Try as I might, I just cannot seem to get this brain to shut off.

Not like I haven't given it my best... two Bloody Mary's and three Bass ales in short order. Still functioning at two in the morning. Probably the only one in the county, right about now.

It's no fun when you do it all by yourself, anyway.

The macabre highlight to an otherwise uninspiring afternoon, happened not long after I'd put the Miata back together for a short run through the twisties. Popping over the crest of a hilly single-lane, I disturbed a dozen or more buzzards lunching on the scattered remains of something furry dead in the center of the grade. Managing to lay down a few quick bursts on the horn, I was surrounded by beating black wings... an unwitting participant in vulture flight.

I'd swear that all of the colors drained out of the sky at that moment. Apocalyptic.

No contact, saints be praised. That would have been...nasty.

No sooner had I gotten back home, Miss Jane bolted for the door. She'd just gotten a call from her brother (whom I've never met), asking her to wire him some money. Since her parents had passed suddenly, a few years ago, she'd been obsessed with finding him... though he'defectively disappeared from the face of the earth. Leaving behind two marriages and three children, hiding out in New Mexico to secape child support (a family legacy), he'd not talked to his adoptive parents for ten years before their passing.

Her mission, since, has been to see that he gets his part of the inheritance. Rather than fly back to Ohio to pick up the big check, he decided to take the bus... to late to take care of arrangements. With no money. So, this was his second call for cash in two days. This, from the woman who cries whenever I ask for help on some of the lesser bills.

Blood runs thicker than vows, I suppose.

Rather than hear about his trials and tribulations, I, too, tried to jump the alcohol train.

Can't even steal a ride.

.


hit me with your rhythm stick




www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from puppet pauper pirate poet pawn & a king. Make your own badge here.