kanji

13 July, 2006
Indy-pendence Days

in addition to being a pretty crappy journalist, lately, recent reflection has made it fairly apparent that i don't do so well as an "American", either. depending upon whose philosophy you subscribe to, of course.

for the most part, philosophies and my self-determination, as it is, invariably come to impasse. i swallowed weekly churchgoing when i was deposited there in those days when playing in mud still appealed to me. OK, that's bullshit. i still like to play in the mud. or, at least, i'm not averse to getting dirty.

i also learned the "rules". that, even more so than misguided, cherry-picked faith, the most important thing to walk away with is how not to kill each other, rip each other off, lie like a rug, worship stuff.

i'm certain that there are many in this rural locality that would have me burned at the stake for such blasphemy.

i need to show them this photo:

it just sounds a little too "chummy" to me to consider the King of Kings getting overly involved with people's seatbelt habits. surely, there are more pressing issues. so the mainstream media tells me, as well as my gut.

there was a point, here....

even in these times when even JuanPabloMontoya is bringing it "home" (despite his Colombian heritage), i've been far too involved with events abroad as of late. a month of World Cup. rubbing elbows with people from Poland, Italy, Japan, England, Colombia, etc-etc-etc at the US Grand Prix. Hell, even on my second trip to visit the Aphrodite of Sarcasm (and it takes one to know one), i dragged her into an oriental market, where my kid-in-a-candy-store demeanor was probably hilarious.

rarely is my stomach empty of Thai or Japanese or Jamaican or anything infused with spices that would sear the buttholes of the unwary. Hell, i don't even run on the same "fuel" as the red-blooded and corn-fed.

nope, no Uncle-Sam-on-stilts, here.

instead of spinning my usual tales of woe, hereabouts, my writing talents have migrated to congressmen, newsblogs, and editorial columns. always looking for that spot to jump in and make my move. since my attitude is anti- anything that requires a logo to sell, the administration has been getting a lot of venom from me--which also puts me at odds with true "Americans"... the ones that think you have to kiss the boss' ass, just because he's boss

well, i'm still looking to make my "move"... and that includes making my presence felt here, more often...

...a bit more "domestically" than lately.

.


hit me with your rhythm stick




www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from puppet pauper pirate poet pawn & a king. Make your own badge here.