kanji

24 July, 2002
Saudade

Bittersweet.

That pretty well describes the mood.

Brazilians have a word for it... "saudade" (or "so-dahd," if you want to pronounce it). Part of their daily philosophy in all things, particulary music. Samba, Bossa Nova, MPB... most of the music from Brazil is all at once rhythmic, precussive, jubilant...and just a little poignant. Like saying" having a wonderful time, things are really great... but...."

Could have slept better, to start off with. Every sleeping hour, on the hour... i was awake. Willing the wristwatch to have some mercy. When the alarm finally went off... I slept through it, sure as shit.

Woke up in a thunderstorm of a mood. Exploded hair. Sheets knotted. No church key to open the coffee tin. Left my cigarettes in the car. Grrrrrrrr.

This cloud followed me around for most of the afternoon... and work wasn't going to be a good way to dissipate it.

But I managed.

Thankfully, there was a template crisis that demanded my immediate attention, so I was spared the predictable song-and-dance of the piecharts and whitebread inanity of the quarterly meeting. Thank God. It's times like those that I get the impression that I must be from some other planet... it's all in another language, and whatever air they breathe, puts me to sleep. Plus, I already knew what the topics would be... all of the graphs I spied sloped downward from left-to-right. "Don't Work Smarter, Work Harder." They should tattoo us with that. Even if it is the opposite of what they say.

This is the last time I'll be seeing Elly for a month... effectively, I'll be housesitting 'til then. And it's going to be bizarre. Last year, I did the same when she went to New Mexico... but I hadn't stayed under the same roof with her, at that point.

Really, we don't see each other for more than ten minutes, and that just on Tuesday, but it's grown on me faster than expected. I can find my way in the dark. I've gotten used to the smell of coffee brewing in my semi-wakefulness, muffled padding in the hallway. Another soul in proximity.

I can't tell which location is really "home" anymore.

An alarming set of consequences.

I see what the Brazilians were getting at.

.


hit me with your rhythm stick




www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from puppet pauper pirate poet pawn & a king. Make your own badge here.