kanji

30 July, 2002
Foul and Fair

I have never been the tweedy "literary" type, but some things that've been crammed into my head occasionally squeeze to the surface... and sometimes illustrate a point fairly well. Whoever Shakespeare was, and if in fact he wrote what has been credited to him, this paraphrase puts the punctuation on the past four days... "so foul and fair a weekend, I have not seen." No fuckin' duh.

Things will be sketchy, as much water has gone over the dam since Thursday. Literally and figuratively.

Friday... radio day, and another grey one. The morning was filled with all of the usual frantic charm for the chronic procrastinator... venue-list info-gathering, bagging CDs and LPs, cleaning up some bills, gas-cigarettes-eats for the jet to C'Ville. Status Quo. The office folks were their usual talkative selves, champing at the bit for 5PM. Miss Jane, who travels with me each air-day, miffed at being ignored. To this day, before the "on air" light goes on, I still get jumpy and distracted. So shoot me. If I don't have it together, it' s me that looks the fool... though it's got to be boring as watching paint dry. There's no arm-twisting involved.

Ally, who precedes me, came back from Chile with a monster cold (it's still winter there), so I lent her some old New Order singles as medicine. And then... showtime. The dreary afternoon must have been a good day to listen to the radio, 'cuz the request line was non-stop. Some days, you feel like you accomplish something. When it was over, we were starving... satiated by the best tortellini in central VA, at Anna'a Pizza #5. Back home, later, the evening was capped with some Iron Chef action (or "Kung Food," as I refer to it), and the strangest Japanese sci-fi film I've seen to date... UZUMAKI. A little Japanese village cursed by the ancient evil of... the spiral. Yeah, that squiggly line thing. Obsessed people clotheswasher diving... and being reduced to giblets. Gouging out their ears, because of the spiral ear canal. and everybody dies. an uplifting nightcap. Add to that... the PHONE IS DEAD! NO WEB ACCESS! Ah, the shoe drops. Another?

Speaking of nightcaps, this is going to be it. We're shorthanded, and I've just managed to squeeze in enough time to get this in. Additional rants to follow.

.


hit me with your rhythm stick




www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from puppet pauper pirate poet pawn & a king. Make your own badge here.